TV Stations


China Central Television (CCTV) is a TV network subordinate to and directly controlled by the State Administration of Radio, Film, and Television.

The most watched programs of CCTV includes the Network News, which is broadcast seven days a week from 7:00 to 7:30 p.m. simultaneously on at least one state-run TV channel in every market. Also popular is its annual New Year's Gala, which has run on the eve of the Spring Festival since since 1983.

The network comprises sixteen channels, including CCTV-9, an English language channel, and other foreign language programming that is carried on satellites around the globe. Although the network's English abbreviation is easily confused with "closed circuit TV," it currently has no plans to change its name.

CCTV channels:

  • CCTV-1: General News. This channel produces the evening Network News, and usually has the first run of serious, patriotic TV series.
  • CCTV-2: Business
  • CCTV-3: Arts
  • CCTV-4: International (Chinese language)
  • CCTV-5: Olympics (5 rings, get it?) It was created out of the former sports channel on December 28, 2007
  • CCTV-6: Movies
  • CCTV-7: Military and Agriculture (runs kids' programs during the afternoon)
  • CCTV-8: Dramatic series
  • CCTV-9: "CCTV International." English language news and programming
  • CCTV-10: Education
  • CCTV-11: Peking Opera
  • CCTV-12: Society and Law
  • In addition to the numbered channels, there are also:
    • 24-hour news
    • Children's channel
    • Music
    • French and Spanish - dubbed rebroadcasts of CCTV 4 and 9